Who is Blockchain and where to have a drink with it?

/
1594 views 3 comment

Around crypto-currency и block a lot of hype, but few people know what kind of game it is and how to explain it in human language. There are a lot of articles on the network about how cool it is to use a crypto, which is a must-have and trend, at the same time, everyone forgets about the main thing - technologies that are much more valuable and can turn our world upside down. In this article, we will understand what kind of beast is blockchain and who needs it at all.

What is blockchain and where did it come from?

Blockchain technology first became known from Satoshi Nakamoto - the creator of Bitcoin. In his article, which described the features of the first cryptocurrency, he told the world about a certain technology that was the basis of this very coin. And although blockchain owes its birth to Bitcoin, it can exist separately from this cryptocurrency. Moreover, everyone can create their own blockchain on their own - this requires only programming skills and a laptop.

Blockchain is a database in the form of a list. In it, all information is recorded as a chain of blocks, which, like train cars, are interconnected. Another example is the blockchain, which can be represented as a diary. Everyone can make entries in this diary, but to change already created data impossible, since each subsequent information is recorded with data about the previous record. If an attacker decides to make some adjustments to the record, then he needs to fake all subsequent notes. That is physically beyond the power of either a person or a computer.

What is the power of the blockchain is easier to explain with an example. Imagine that Kolya keeps a diary in which he writes down all the important information for himself. He writes a variety of notes there, from "went for bread" to "took Vasya 100 rubles." Vasya is not happy that Kolya always remembers his debts, so he decides to enter Kolya’s house at night and forge a note in his diary. Since Kolya writes with a simple pencil, it’s not difficult to correct the entry “took Vasya 100 rubles” to “took Vasya 10 rubles”. Over time, Vasya was tormented by his conscience, and he admitted to Kolya that he had forged the record, so Nikolai was faced with the task of complicating the recordings so that neither Vasya nor Tolik could outwit him.

Since keeping a diary on paper is the last century, Kolya goes to programming courses, where he is taught to turn any text into hashes with the help of an applet - an incoherent set of characters. The program turned any text into rubbish, but the point was that the same text always received the same hash, for example, "0000". It was worth changing at least one letter in the source text and the hash was already different. Kolya took the knowledge acquired at the courses into service and began to keep an electronic diary. In it, he encoded the text under the guise of hashes and wrote down not only his note, but also the hash of the previous note. It turned out "0000 took 100 rubles Vasya." In the next note, he encrypted the previous one and wrote down a new “1234 took 1000 rubles to Tolik”.

Now if Vasya or Tolik want to forge Kolya's diary, then they will have to change not only the entry itself, but also all subsequent hashes until the end of the diary, otherwise Nikolai will notice the catch. It will not be easy to do this - you need, just like Kolya, to go to programming courses and learn how to write text with hashes. With this knowledge, Vasya and Tolik can enter Colin's house at night and rewrite all the hashes in a few hours. In the morning Kolya will discover that no one owes him anything, but when he starts checking the hashes, it turns out that they all match. Kolya is not a fool and

To strengthen the defense, Kolya decides to add a random number (nons) at the end of each record, which when converted to a hash has the form “00”. To make adjustments to Kolya’s records, attackers will need to stupidly select numbers until they find the same one that produces two zeros in the hash. Kolya himself goes over about 50 numbers to find the right one, which is why it will be 50 times more difficult for an cracker to find a nons for falsifying a record.

Kolya’s system has become super difficult for hacking, but he decided to take a partner who will help to select numbers to create non-numbers that, when converted to a hash, will already have the form of three zeros. In fact, now Colin’s diary looks like the home version of the blockchain, but in reality it’s not only Kolya and the partner, but a huge number of miners who encrypt blocks with hashes and nons, and the complexity of this encryption increases all the time, which makes hacking the system unrealistic.

 

Decentralization in brief

We are all borrowing or borrowing ourselves, and if we are talking about a large group of friends who hang out in a bar, then remembering what and who owes it can be difficult. You can entrust the accounting of debts to the most responsible person in the company, who drinks less than others and everyone trusts him. Well, if we are talking about an entire city or country, then relying on the trust in a stranger is the last thing.

 

In the case of the blockchain, no one trusts anyone - the system is decentralized and a copy of the blockchain is stored by each participant. Neither Vasya nor Tolik will be able to crack such a system, if only for the reason that the attacker will need to get into the house of everyone who has downloaded this database and fake it on each PC.

There is no trust in a decentralized system, and for making changes to the blockchain, they must be accepted by other participants. If most computers checked the block and agree that the hashes and nonse are correct, then new data is written to the blockchain.

 

Blockchain Transactions

When making purchases in the store with a credit card, each time the store through the terminal will request information from the bank whether you have this money on the balance sheet. In this case, the bank acts as the authorizer of the transactions, and in order to get authorization, the client must enter his PIN code, which only he knows. Thus, you can say that you sign the transaction with your PIN code, and the bank approves it or not, depending on whether you have that kind of money.
The blockchain does not have a bank or another authorizer, but there are analogues of pin codes - a private and public key. Each user has a unique private key, which is unknown to anyone and essentially gives access to your money. The public key is the address of your wallet, which can be transferred to other participants, but only from the owner of the private key, transactions will be considered legitimate. When you send a transaction with your public key, you sign it with a private key, as a result of which other participants see that it is their owner who is sending money.

Another feature of the blockchain is that it does not contain information about how much money you have in your account. The blocks contain only information about how much and where it was sent. Confirmation that the participant has money on the balance are links to all previous transactions in his wallet, which are attached to each operation. Thus, a standard blockchain transaction looks like: “Kolya sent me 2 rubles, Vasya gave me 3 rubles, of this amount I want to send 4 rubles to Tolik, and I need to return the change of 1 ruble back to me ”.

As soon as you submit the transaction, the miners will check it with all the links, and if you haven’t managed to spend the 5 rubles that Kolya and Vasya gave you, then it will be approved. This transaction cannot be canceled; the money irrevocably leaves for its intended purpose.

What is mining?

The owner himself could write notes in Colin's notebook, but there is no Kolya in the blockchain - who then makes the notes? They collect transactions in batches and form miners from them, which are not specific people — these are computers. It is they who iterate over the numbers until they find the hashes of the correct form. The more miners there are in the network, the higher its protection and the more work they need to do to find the right solution.

As soon as a set of numbers is found on the Bitcoin network that corresponds to a hash with 10 zeros at the beginning, a new block is formed. It would take decades for such a computing operation to be performed by one computer, and since thousands of computers calculate the hash at the same time, this task is performed approximately every 10 minutes. It is with this frequency that new blocks are born in the Bitcoin system. The miner who solved the problem first receives a reward, the rest receive a notification that the problem is solved and begin to look for a new hash. While the miners are working hard and there is a blockchain - without them its existence is impossible.

Conclusion

Blockchain is not only about cryptocurrencies, it can be applied anywhere. Already today this technology is being introduced in business, manufacturing, medicine, and even at the level of government bodies. In fact, you can shove it into any system where there are participants who cannot trust each other and then intermediaries such as lawyers, bankers, insurers, etc. will go look for a new job. It is only necessary to adapt the blockchain for a specific task and introduce it into our lives.

0 0 vote
Article rating
guest
3 comments
Old
New Top
Intertext Reviews
View all comments
olgakyzmina
olgakyzmina
1 year ago

Ohhh! I’ve been using blockchain for 5 years, but it turns out I did not know anything about it, Article Bomb! Respect!

Leyla
1 year ago

😊👍

lyoshaframe
1 year ago

azhuyte, the first time someone intelligibly + - gave a hollow sho it is, thank you

Кто такой “Блокчейн” и где с ним выпить ?

Barman / 18.01.2020
677 просмотров 2 комментария

Вокруг криптовалют и блокчейна много хайпа, но что это за дичь и как объяснить это человеческим языком, знают немногие. В сети есть масса статей про то, как круто пользоваться криптой, какой это маст-хэв и тренд, в то же время, все забывают о главном – о технологиях, которые гораздо ценней и могут с ног на голову перевернуть наш мир. В этой статье будем разбираться, что за зверь блокчейн и кому он вообще нужен.

Что такое блокчейн и откуда он взялся?

О технологии блокчейн впервые стало известно от Сатоши Накамото – создателя Биткоина. В своей статье, которая описывала особенности первой криптовалюты, он и рассказал миру о некой технологии, которая была основой этой самой монеты. И хоть своему рождение блокчейн обязан Биткоину, существовать он может и отдельно от этой криптовалюты. Более того, каждый желающий может самостоятельно создать свой блокчейн – для этого нужны лишь навыки программирования и ноутбук.

Блокчейн представляет собой базу данных в виде списка. В нем вся информация записывается как цепочка блоков, которые, как вагоны поезда, имеют связь между собой. В качестве примера можно привести и другое – блокчейн можно представить в виде дневника. В этот дневник могут делать записи все желающие, но изменить уже созданные да­­­нные нельзя, так как каждая последующая информация записывается с данными о предыдущей записи. Если злоумышленник задумает внести какие-то корректировки в запись, то ему нужно подделать и все последующие заметки. Что физически не под силу ни человеку, ни компьютеру.

В чем сила блокчейна проще объяснить на примере. Представим, что Коля ведет дневник, в который записывает всю важную для себя информацию. Пишет он туда самые разные записи, от «сходил за хлебом» до «занял Васе 100 рублей». Васе не выгодно, что Коля всегда помнит о его долгах, поэтому он решается проникнуть в дом Коли ночью и подделать запись в его дневнике. Так как Коля пишет простым карандашом, то нет труда исправить запись «занял Васе 100 рублей» на «занял Васе 10 рублей». Со временем Васю замучила совесть, и он признался Коле, что подделал запись, поэтому перед Николаем стоит задача усложнить записи, чтобы впредь ни Вася, ни Толик не смогли его обхитрить.

Так как вести дневник на бумаге – прошлый век, Коля идет на курсы программирования, где его учат с помощью программки превращать любой текст в хеши – бессвязный набор символов. Программа превращала любой текст в белиберду, но суть была в том, что один и тот же текст всегда получал одинаковый хеш, например, «0000». Стоило изменить хоть одну букву в исходном тексте и хеш был уже другой. Коля взял полученные на курсах знания на вооружение и начал вести электронный дневник. В нем он кодировал текст под видом хешей и записывал не только свою заметку, но и хеш предыдущей заметки. Получалось «0000 занял 100 рублей Васе». В следующей заметке он шифровал предыдущую и записывал новую «1234 занял 1000 рублей Толику».

Теперь если Вася или Толик захотят подделать дневник Коли, то им придется изменить не только саму запись, но и все последующие хеши до конца дневника, ведь иначе Николай заметит подвох. Сделать это будет непросто – нужно так же, как и Коля, сходить на курсы программирования и научиться записывать текст хешами. Имея такие знания, Вася с Толиком могут проникнуть в Колин дом ночью и за несколько часов перепишут все хеши. На утро Коля обнаружит, что ему никто ничего не должен, но когда начнет проверять хеши, то окажется, что все они совпадают. Коля не дурак и

Чтобы усилить защиту Коля решает добавлять в конце каждой записи рандомное число (нонс), которое при переводе в хеш имеет вид «00». Чтобы внести коррективы в записи Коли, злоумышленникам нужно будет тупо подбирать числа пока они не найдут то самое, выдающее в хеше два нуля. Сам Коля перебирает около 50 чисел, чтобы найти нужное, поэтому и взломщику будет в 50 раз сложнее найти нонс для подделки записи.

Система Коли и так стала суперсложной для взлома, но он решил взять партнера, который будет помогать подбирать числа для создания нонсов, которые при переводе в хеш уже будут иметь вид трех нулей. По сути теперь Колин дневник выглядит как домашняя версия блокчейна, но в реальности в нем не только Коля и партнер, а огромное число майнеров, которые шифруют блоки хешами и нонсами, а сложность этого шифрования все время увеличивается, что делает взлом системы нереальным.

 

Кратко о децентрализации

Все мы кому-то занимаем или сами берем взаймы, а если речь идет о большой компании друзей, которая затусила в баре, то запомнить, что и кто должен, бывает непросто. Доверить учет долгов можно самому ответственному человеку в компании, который пьет меньше других и ему все доверяют. Ну а если речь идет о целом городе или стране, то полагаться на доверие к незнакомому человеку – последнее дело.

 

В случае с блокчейном никто никому не доверяет – система децентрализована и копия блокчейна хранится у каждого участника. Взломать такую систему не сможет ни Вася, ни Толик хотя бы по той причине, что злоумышленнику потребуется проникнуть в дом к каждому, кто скачал себе эту базу данных, и подделать ее на каждом ПК.

В децентрализованной системе нет доверия и для внесения изменений в блокчейн, их должны принять другие участники. Если большинство компьютеров проверили блок и согласны, что хеши и нонсы верны, то новые данные записываются в блокчейн.

 

Транзакции в блокчейне

Совершая покупки в магазине банковской картой, каждый раз магазин посредство терминала будет запрашивать у банка информацию, есть ли у вас эти деньги на балансе. Банк в этом случае выступает авторизатором транзакций, а чтобы получить авторизацию, клиент должен ввести свой пин-код, который знает только он. Таким образом, можно сказать, что вы подписываете транзакцию своим пин-кодом, а банк ее одобряет или нет в зависимости от того, есть ли у вас такие деньги.
В блокчейне нет банка и другого авторизатора, но есть свои аналоги пин-кодов – приватный и публичный ключ. Каждый пользователь имеет уникальный приватный ключ, который неизвестен никому и дает по сути доступ к вашим деньгам. Публичный ключ – это адрес вашего кошелька, который можно передавать другим участникам, но только от владельца приватного ключа транзакции будут считаться легитимными. Отправляя транзакцию со своим публичным ключом, вы подписываете ее приватным keyключом, в результате чего другие участники видят, что деньги отправляет именно их владелец.

Еще одна особенность блокчейна – в нем нет информации о том, сколько денег у вас на счету. В блоках есть лишь информация о том, сколько и куда было отправлено. Подтверждением того, что у участника есть деньги на балансе, являются ссылки на все предыдущие транзакции в его кошельке, которые прикрепляются к каждой операции. Таким образом, стандартная транзакция в блокчейне имеет вид: «Коля отправил мне 2 рубля, Вася дал 3 рубля, из этой суммы я хочу отправить 4 рубля Толику, а сдачу в 1 рубль нужно вернуть мне обратно».

Как только вы отправите транзакцию, ее со всеми ссылками проверят майнеры, и если вы до этого времени еще не успели потратить 5 рублей, которые вам дали Коля и Вася, то она будет одобрена. Отменить эту транзакцию нельзя, деньги безвозвратно уходят по назначению.

Что такое майнинг?

Записывать заметки в Колин блокнот мог сам его владелец, но в блокчейне нет никакого Коли – кто же тогда делает записи? Собирают транзакции пачками и формируют из них блоки майнеры, которые не являются конкретными людьми – это вычислительные машины. Именно они перебирают числа до тех пор, пока не найдут хеши правильного вида. Чем больше будет майнеров в сети, тем выше ее защита и тем больше работы им нужно выполнить, чтобы найти правильное решение.

Как только в сети Bitcoin будет найден набор чисел, которые соответствует хешу с 10-ю нулями в начале – формируется новый блок. Одному компьютеру потребовалось бы для такой вычислительной операции десятки лет, а так как вычисляют хеш одновременно тысячи компьютеров, то эта задача выполняется примерно каждые 10 минут. Именно с такой периодичностью в системе Биткоин рождаются новые блоки. Тот майнер, который решил задачу первым получает вознаграждение, остальные получают уведомление, что задача решена и начинают искать новый хеш. Пока майнеры усердно работают и существует блокчейн – без них его существование невозможно.

Вывод

Блокчейн – это не только о криптовалютах, его можно применить, где угодно. Уже сегодня эту технологию внедряют в бизнесе, производстве, медицине и даже на уровне государственных органов. По сути впихнуть его можно в любую систему, где есть участники, которые не могут доверять друг другу и тогда пойдут искать новую работу такие посредники, как юристы, банкиры, страховщики и т.д. Нужно всего лишь адаптировать блокчейн под конкретную задачу и внедрить его в нашу жизнь.

2
Оставить комментарий

avatar
новее старее большинство голосов
olgakyzmina
Гость
olgakyzmina

Охх! 5 лет уже пользуюсь блокчейном, но получается ничего о нем не знала, Статья Бомба! Респект!

Leyla
Участник

😊👍